Help me choose a Hammer bullet

Koda_

How do you select which bullet weight to use for hunting?

I will be handloading for a new 280AI for elk hunting, 8 twist 26in bbl and want to use a Hammer Hunter. I'm looking thru the various weights they offer and kinda stalled out on picking the heaviest hitting or choosing a lighter flatter weight, or maybe just stay in the middle for an all around compromise. Does it really even matter?
I have the basics down but I'm still somewhat new to handloading and have never owned a 280 before. I'm playing around in a ballistic calculator but don't really have a metric to judge a starting velocity for each weight.
Hammer Hunters: 143, 146, 155, 169, 177gr.

Would just like to hear everyones random advice on what metrics do you use to select a hunting bullet?

I would choose based on your maximum desired range. Basically the way I did it was decided I didn't want to shoot past 600 yards on animals. So I said ok I need to get to 600 yards with the minimum 1800fps velocity to expand a hammer. Then I looked at the expected velocity for the cartridge I was using and picked the lightest bullet I could to keep BC high enough to get there.

For example in my 7-08ai I thought I could reasonably get a 140gr absolute hammer to 2900-2950 fps so I ran those numbers in My ballistics calculator and came up with 1800fps past 600 yards. But the 130s at 3100 were a little closer to 1800 fps impact velocity than I wanted to I opted to start a 140gr a little slower but be confident at 600 yards with better retained velocity and wind drift. FWIW I drive those 140gr absolutes over 3k.

I would choose based on your maximum desired range. Basically the way I did it was decided I didn't want to shoot past 600 yards on animals.