Never use a SAFETY

RustyRick

On Bolt actions or hammer equipped.

But really, I work as a gun room manager/salesman for one of the big box stores. I can't believe how many "seasoned" gun men pass me back a rifle COCKED!

I NEVER use a safety while hunting. I'll carry a live round in the chamber but close the bolt after pulling the trigger. Then if a shooting opportunity arrives I'll open and close the bolt to cock it just before aiming.

If I hear something in the bush around me I'll carry it with the bolt up.

All the meat or trophy's in the world aren't worthy of me or my hunting partner relying on my memory to have the safety on, or did I bump it off.

I know it clicks when I move the bolt action, and maybe when in a jump and shoot situation (like lots of tracks around) I might carry it in both hands with the safety on. But never, never slung over my back relying on a safety and my memory. (I'm over 65 :) )

What also amazes me is how MANY rifleman don't even know that their bolt action can latch un-cocked. GRR

Agree or dis-agree?

On Bolt actions or hammer equipped.

But really, I work as a gun room manager/salesman for one of the big box stores. I can't believe how many "seasoned" gun men pass me back a rifle COCKED!

I NEVER use a safety while hunting. I'll carry a live round in the chamber but close the bolt after pulling the trigger. Then if a shooting opportunity arrives I'll open and close the bolt to cock it just before aiming.

If I hear something in the bush around me I'll carry it with the bolt up.

All the meat or trophy's in the world aren't worthy of me or my hunting partner relying on my memory to have the safety on, or did I bump it off.

I know it clicks when I move the bolt action, and maybe when in a jump and shoot situation (like lots of tracks around) I might carry it in both hands with the safety on. But never, never slung over my back relying on a safety and my memory. (I'm over 65 :) )