300 rum loads

afornea

I just bought a Sendero II in 300 rum. I will be using it to hunt whitetails and hogs out to 600 yds. Do any of you guys have any pet loads or recommendations of where to start. Also I have both FL dies and neck sizing dies. Could someone explain which is more beneficial to me, I'm a beginner at this.

I am also fairly new to the 300 RUM, and have been doing some load development, I am using 210gr Berger VLD, with H1000 standard seating depth of 3.60 (from Berger) Rem brass, and CCI 250 primers

87grH1000.jpg

here is 87 g H1000, 5 shots at 100yds (pulled 1 out), avg vel- 2852fps

88grH1000.jpg

and here is 88gr of H1000, 5 shots, 100yds (pulled 1 out here as well) avg vel- 2913 fps

Maybe not the best in the world but a petty good place to start I figure, probably will play with the seating depth a little, and try 0.5gr incraments as well. Hope this helps.

I just bought a Sendero II in 300 rum. I will be using it to hunt whitetails and hogs out to 600 yds. Do any of you guys have any pet loads or recommendations of where to start. Also I have both FL dies and neck sizing dies. Could someone explain which is more beneficial to me, I'm a beginner at this.

I prefer full length resizing. I currently shoot a 200 AB with Re25, Federal cases, and either WLRM primers or Fed215 Match primers. I have the Berger VLDs in 210 to play with. Other powders that work well are H1000, Retumbo, US869, and WC872.

Derek M - do you have a good load for the berger 210 vlds with H1000?
i have the h1000 and im waiting for the bergers, if you have some load info that please do share .

100 grains of Retumbo pushing 180 grain Barnes TSX. Sub MOA groups out to 400 yards, and sub inch groups at 200 yards. The load is lightly compressed, which Retumbo seems to like, I've got 3 other rifles that really like Retumbo when it's a compressed load.