Tape over barrel in bad weather

Well, the military has been using shoot-away muzzle caps on the M16/M4 since I was a young trainee... they seemed to work. Yeah, I imagine if you put a ton of duct tape or electrical tape over a muzzle there might be some type of pressure build up... but just a few peices? there might be a minor, not quite precipitable pressure build-up depending on the amount as I said, I can say that some of the military muzzle caps were near beaten on to keep them watertight, and I've shot them off with both live round and blanks I don't know of anyone having a problem due to pressure. Just my 0.2 Cheers.

1663284439208.png

Well, the military has been using shoot-away muzzle caps on the M16/M4 since I was a young trainee... they seemed to work. Yeah, I imagine if you put a ton of duct tape or electrical tape over a muzzle there might be some type of pressure build up... but just a few peices? there might be a minor, not quite precipitable pressure build-up depending on the amount as I said, I can say that some of the military muzzle caps were near beaten on to keep them watertight, and I've shot them off with both live round and blanks I don't know of anyone having a problem due to pressure. Just my 0.2 Cheers.

View attachment 394445

The plastic M16 muzzle cap cost me a P100 cut one year. Missed the cut by 2 points.

After rapid fire prone we had rain delay, restarted prone slow fire after an hour or so. My 1st shot at 600 was 7 at 6, full value correction, 2nd shot 7 at 12, 3rd shot I went back to dope come up, cleaned the rest.

When I got off the line my scorer said the plactic rain cover flew off with the 1st shot. Not realizing it was there, when the 7 showed, without hesitatiom I cranked up full value correction. Lost 6 points in those first 2 shots, missed the cut by 2....