New guys to the group

Asquared

Hello Guys/Gals

I am brand new to the group and very new to long range shooting and hunting, so forgive me if I say anything that does not make sense. I have lived in Pittsburgh the last 4 years and have recently moved back to southeast Idaho. I am looking forward to hunting this fall but realized it has been a while since I have had to make a shot at over 200 yards. I began to investigate long range shooting and am quickly becoming addicted. With that little background finally here is my question.

I have a stock Remington BDL 7mm mag.

My Goals are to have a gun capable of a decent group at 1000 yards (target shooting not hunting).

What upgrades can I do to my 7 mm mag? I would like to have a DBM, (any ideas on which is best) and would like to upgrade the stock to something that is more tacital like the McMillan A3-5, (with stock barrel?)

Or should I just buy a .338 laupa? I thought that since I was a beginner I should upgrade the 7 mag first, I just don't want to put money into it if its money that could go into a new one.

Thanks

-AA

Welcome to the addiction! and LRH.:D 7mm Rem Mag will do all you need it to at this point. You'll want to get the trigger tuned up around 1.5 to 2#. With that said, the Remington stock trigger can be tuned, but if you want to go to something a little better, then a Jewel, or timney is the way to go. You can research this online and learn how to do the trigger tune on your own, or for anywhere between $20-$60 have it done by a gunsmith.

You stock choice is excellent. Look around though, Manners is a top notch stock along with H-S. Most guys go with McMillian or Manners though. Either will do what you ask of it. One guy I know really pushes the Manners T-3 as the best long range stock for carry and target.