Moose and a griz

Speedo

In 2010 I got to see what can happen with a long range rifle in a hunting situation. After that trip was over and I was back home I decided to do some research to see what I could do to better my chances and extend my range in the field. That search led me to this site and a new found way to part with my money.

I decided that I would start with a rifle with some long range potential and ended up with a .338-.378 Weatherby Accumark that I picked up here at LRH. Well a rifle has to have some glass and I ended up with a NF 5.5-22 x 56. I've always been an off the shelf shooter and I've done quite well hunting that way but never been too pleased with bullet selection and accuracy, so now I've started reloading. It seems that some electronics is a good idea to get on target at longer ranges than I was used to shooting, ballistics program, lrf, chronograph, etc.

If you're going to be proficient at anything it takes some practice, now I'm a range safety officer at my local shooting range and I can go shoot there any time I want to. The Accumark is a pretty good shooter, I'm not sure how good it is but the two of us can do a 1/2" group at 100 yds. Since our local range only goes to 200 yds. currently I've shot a few rocks out to 900 yds.

Now it's time to put this new, to me, technology to use. I've been hunting moose for many years and my kids all grew up eating moose and caribou so for me moose is just something that you do in September. This year I'm taking my .375 H & H, My 300 RUM and my .338-.378 along with me.

Our travel time to our hunting camp takes 2 days of off roading and mid way through the second day we were moving through some Black Spruce when a young griz stuck its head out from behind a tree. Hadn't even made it to camp and I had a bear down.