Load development for ruger American 22-250

bayoubuck

Hello guys, I'm a newbie to reloading and I'm trying to get some heavier bullets for my 22-250. All the factory ammo I can find is 55gr and with the 1:10 twist of the ruger American I'd like to shoot the 69gr sierra matchkings. Sierra says 1:10 or faster so I figured I was on the right track. I was able to find IMR 4350 on the shelves at most local stores so I'd really like to make that work.

I looked up sierras load data for 69gr mk's and it shows a range of 5 different powder charges, so I loaded 5 rnds of each charge and went shoot.

All once fired nosler brass fully prepped and sized, seated .020 off the lands. CCI large rifle BR primers.

So 35.3gr shot the best. 5rnds @ 100yds 1" group. I went up a grain and it looks like the group opened up. I went down a grain a still no improvement.

I've tried weighing the bullets for consistency, measuring all the brass for uniformity and still not getting better than a 1" group.

Is there something else I can do to improve my load or should I abandon the IMR 4350 and try another powder? Or a lighter bullet?

Go up and down .2 or .3 grains per powder load. It may close up with that change. Increase/decrease seating depth.

Beyond that, try other bullets same weight or lighter and different kinds of powder.

The lighter bullets may well be the answer if the twist rate is on the edge of being unstable for that specific bullet. Specific bullet being the operative part of that. VLD style bullets are prone to being unstable in marginal twist barrels due to their longer length.

I shoot a Savage 22-250 with a proof CF barrel, 8 twist IIRC, it shoots that 55 V-Max great. Haven't, yet, loaded heavier bullets.

Appears that the search provides many threads that discuss loads for 22-250.