Eberlestock vs. Cabela's Outfitter Pack

ricknolan

I am considering either an Eberlestock Blue Widow with a Butt Bucket to carry a bow or a Cabela's Alaskan Outfitter Pack with Frame. Both are of similar size.

I will only use the pack for one elk hunt a year, I plan to hike in about 5-7 miles and set up camp, hunt for 3-4 days and then come out for a night and then back in for 3-4 more days. I am new to backpack hunting.

I fully understand that the Eberlestock is a far better pack and will likely perform better than the Outfitter pack but the Eberlestock is almost twice as much money.

It the Eberlestock worth the extra money or is there a better option I am overlooking.

Thanks

Eberlestock all the way. It is well worth the extra money, and will last forever.

Just got my X1A1 and I am totally impressed with these packs.

check out www.paysonoutfitters.com.
they carry a complete line of eberlystock packs at slightly better prices and offer free shipping.
they also carry other brands.
i bought an x1 from them and it is indeed an excellant pack. not what you need however.
i would think there are other more reasonable options for your intended use.
a g i duffel bag holds lots of gear. possibly something on that order could be fastened to a good frame.

I own Eberlestock and have owned Cabelas packs although not that specific one. The only reason I would say go with the Cabelas is if you really intent on it being a one-time thing. If you plan to sell the pack afterwards or chuck it in storage, the Cabelas packs are ok. Some of there packs are darn decent. Eberlestock is consistently great.

ATH---He didn't say it was a one time deal. He said it would be used for one big trip a year! I would go with the Eberlestock in that case!!!