Best factory 300 win mag loads in a 1-11.2

Roke314

I was wondering if a few of you may have some suggestions on a few good factory loads for a 300wm in the 150 - 180 range??? The rifle I will be using is in the process of being built and looking for a place to start... The rifle is a blue printed 700 with a Proof research 24'' 1-11.2... The reason for choosing a 300wm is I just don't have the time to reload so I was looking for a caliber that would be somewhat universal for anything from Antelope to Elk... As this is my first attempt at long range (ish) hunting rifle I don't know if any of this information is relevant to the question asked but I will add it to give a better idea of what the rifle consist of.. As mentioned the action is a Remington 700 and will be blue printed, the barrel is on order from Proof Research 1-11.2 as recommended from the rep from PR it will finish at 24'' and the reason for the 24'' is I currently use a tikka t3 in 300wm with a 24'' and I find it to be a very handy length , The recoil lug is a PTG .250, The firing pin is being replaced with a Tubbs speed lock system, Trigger is a Timney 510 and bottom metal is also PTG, As far as the stock goes I've yet to order one and am still looking at few so any suggestions would be great...
Thanks in advanced for any and all info!!!

Welcome to LRH and enjoy!

Excellent choice in chambering, however, IIWY and not too late, I'd go with 1:10" and 26" barrel and take advantage of the heavier Berger VLDs with higher BCs -- 210s and 215s, and possibly the 230s -- and still stabilize the 150-180 bullet weights.

Welcome to LRH and enjoy!

Excellent choice in chambering, however, IIWY and not too late, I'd go with 1:10" and 26" barrel and take advantage of the heavier Berger VLDs with higher BCs -- 210s and 215s, and possibly the 230s -- and still stabilize the 150-180 bullet weights.