7 STW vs 28 Nosler vs 7 RUM according to Nosler's #8 reloading book

AZShooter

I was looking at the load data in Nosler's reloading guide #8. I studied the performance of the 7 STW, 28 Nosler and 7 RUM with 168 gr bullets.

I find it interesting that Nosler shows both the 7 STW and 28 Nosler cartridges with max load of 80 gr with H1000. The test barrel of the 7 STW is 24'' while the 28 Nosler is 26''. Velocities are 3093 fps and 3183 fps respectively.

Even more interesting is the case capacity comparisons which I found in a online article from Shooting Times: Ammo Review: The New .28 Nosler - Shooting Times

''When filled to the brim, the .28 Nosler case holds 100.7 grains of water versus 99.6 grains for 7mm STW cases made by Remington and 100.2 grains for those from Federal.'' To me these are virtually the same case capacities.

I guess Nosler has to show their cartridge is superior to the 7 STW by using a shorter 24'' barrel for the 7 STW. This is about as close to an apples vs apples comparison as you will find in their book.

From there on the 28 Nosler blows the 7 STW away by using US 869, RL-33, and RL-50 POWDERS THEY DON'T USE WITH THE STW!

Move to the larger 7 RUM and again the 28 Nosler wins by virtue of different powders used. At least they used the same 26'' barrel length.

I will concede that the 168 gr bullet may not be the top choice for any of these cartridges unless you are running a twist slower than 1 in 9.25 or so. Regardless of that fact, the only powders used with the 7 RUM are H1000, 7828 SSC, and Magnum while Nosler uses 11 powders. Too many to list but I did list the ones that yielded the fastest velocities.

The fastest the 7 RUM sends the 168 shown in the book is 3127 fps, while the 28 Nosler shows 3251 fps.

I hope a few of you found this interesting.

Vested interest usually drives statistics...Same goes for business investors, and the politicians in DC looking to profiteer by swaying a vote.