.308 Decision

HogWildFL

Looking for some advice to get the rifle I need. Im deciding between an Remington Varmit SF and the Browning x Bolt Hell's Canyon Speed in .308. Im looking for a dependable all around rifle for shots up to 400 yards. I know they are capable of shooting farther but I am not an expert. I have shot my whole life but have been limited to the typical 150 yard shot in the Southeast. I need something that I can learn on and become confident. Target shooting to pass the time after the hunt is a plus. I would like to learn long distance shooting but will not be competing. The Remington offers a longer barrel and the dependable 700 action along with being stainless. The Hell's Canyon is 2 pounds lighter and is glass bedded and free floating with the cera coat. The difference in these 2 rifles is like night and day but are the 2 that caught my eye. The questions I have are what benefits if any are there from the longer barrel on the Remington? How much louder is the muzzle break on the .308? Does the difference of 2 pounds help with longer range shooting? Is there a major difference in having a bedded action and free floated barrel for my use? Which would be better for me to become confident/learn long range hunting? Reduced recoil is a consideration due to a severe rotator cuff injury, which would you consider to be less if any?For those that have used these which one would you recommend that would be the most "shooter friendly" to learn with?
For optics I have narrowed it down to the Burris Veracity 4-20x50 or the Vortex HS LR 4-20x50. I like that the Burris has covered turrets and the BDC is easy to see and and understand. On the other hand I love my Vortex on my muzzle loader. The HS LR has one open turret and many more BDC's. Vortex also has a very informative web site. Any experience or suggestions would be great.