.270 AI vs .280 AI SAAMI vs .280 AI 40 degree information.

Alibiiv

I've been researching to make a build for about three or four months now. I've had trouble finding a smith to work on the Ruger 77 tang safety actions, however finally found a gunsmith in Montana who really likes Rugers and likes working on them. Why a Ruger some might say, well is it what I have and like to shoot, and what I want to shoot and hunt with. Now the fun part, what caliber do I want to make the build in. The first thought is that I "really" like the .270 Winchester, so the .270 AI ought to really make a great build!! There isn't a whole lot of information on the .270 AI, and the articles I read stated that P.O. thought the .270 Winchester to be an already overbore caliber; and, as such there would not be enough gain to make the effort worth making the improvement. So ruled that one out, but not totally yet; the rifle is still in shipping and has not arrived at the smith's yet. Then got into the real nightmare of trying to figure out/understand the whole .280 AI SAAMI (Nosler is what it ought to be called to eliminate a whole lot of confusion!!). J.E. Custom and a few other posters really helped me figure this whole mess out. I called the smith and asked if it he had a reamer for the .280 AI, 40 degree (original wildcat), he stated that he did and only had to run the reamer in an additional .014 thousandths to generate the wildcat chamber/caliber. Thus I settled on the .280AI 40 degree. I figure that if I am going to fire form my casings, I might as well have something unique and have with a bit more powder capacity at the same time. The stumbling point that I am at presently is that I cannot find any information at all on the .280 AI 40`? I suspect that I can start at or around the .280 AI (SAAMI) load data, it's just that it would be good if I could find something a bit more concrete than that; but, this probably is what a wildcat caliber is about. I have seen P.O. Ackley America's Gun