What brand Chrono to get?

WahooYahoo

Well-Known Member
LRH Team Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2016
Messages
376
Location
The Great Republic of Texas
I bought a Labrador after way too many disappointing day of jacking with the others and then not being able to make sense of any of the numbers. If you can't afford the Labrador, buy it 50/50 with a shooting buddy or save your money until you can afford it. The others are quite literally a waste of time and money. Honestly
 

WahooYahoo

Well-Known Member
LRH Team Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2016
Messages
376
Location
The Great Republic of Texas
Added note. When you get one, order a Trigger It takes away 80% of the set-up time and will let you set two rifles down on either side and shoot without adjusting anything. Best $35 you can spend for saving time ensuring that every shot is measured.
 

TBuckus

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2012
Messages
297
Location
OR
I bought a Labrador after way too many disappointing day of jacking with the others and then not being able to make sense of any of the numbers. If you can't afford the Labrador, buy it 50/50 with a shooting buddy or save your money until you can afford it. The others are quite literally a waste of time and money. Honestly

That’s what I did to soften the price.
I originally had a CE chrono. Worked fine. I think the Labradar may be more accurate.
The biggest advantage for me was the ease of set up. I do my load development at a range that has barrels you shoot through. It takes a while to get it lined up with the target and rifle. All the while everyone is waiting for me to finish dialing it in. (Busy range)
Then, if it doesn’t read the shot, I have to stop everyone and readjust.
if you‘re by yourself in your backyard, this is a mute point.
 

ShtrRdy

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2012
Messages
3,477
Location
High Plains
Another good possibility is the Magnetospeed. Very reliable measurements. The down side is you have to hang the measurement probe off the end of the barrel and this will affect POI and group size.
 

BallisticsGuy

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
1,185
Location
Heck
Magnetospeed unless you have an actual need for the few features of the labradar that set it apart. Labradar is just more bulk, more expensive, more battery guzzling, with a more terrible user interface. If you don't want to deal with the POI shift, there are adapters you can buy to get the bayo off the muzzle. For me and everyone I know personally who uses one, the POI shift is pretty predictable and does not affect grouping, just moves your POI.
 

Sdbeanfield

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2018
Messages
63
Location
Groton,South Dakota
I just bought the magnetospeed sporter off midway for $160. It was delivered yesterday haven't had a chance to try. I couldn't justify the cost of getting the v3 or the lab radar for what I am going to use for. We will see if I'm satisfied with my decision some time this week. Maybe it will be for sale on here next week. 😆
 

TBuckus

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2012
Messages
297
Location
OR
Magnetospeed unless you have an actual need for the few features of the labradar that set it apart. Labradar is just more bulk, more expensive, more battery guzzling, with a more terrible user interface. If you don't want to deal with the POI shift, there are adapters you can buy to get the bayo off the muzzle. For me and everyone I know personally who uses one, the POI shift is pretty predictable and does not affect grouping, just moves your POI.

Not to create an argument, but POI shift is the main reason I went away from the Magnetospeed. I want to spend the least amount of rounds getting my rifle dialed in.
one of the guys I work with has a magnetospeed. He wants to “buy in” with mine because he feels its a better system.
Battery life is irrelevant. I have an external battery pack That I use for hunting. Never had an issue. Not sure of the interface comment.
 

Hugnot

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2020
Messages
442
Location
Montana
Labradar & Magnetospeed two different technologies. If have the $ go Labradar. The Magnetospeed uses electro-magnetic field interruptions caused by whizzing bullets at set distances to calculate velocity - not light dependent. Getting the thing to stay in place might involve duct tape or buying a rail type attachment.. The rail mount looks like the best way to go for fine accuracy . The rail might involve drilling then screwing the rail onto a fine wood stock but needs a short barrel to work or possibly some extension sticking out from the stock forearm.
 
Last edited:

nmbarta

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2014
Messages
906
Location
billings mt
I own both, and both work. If you can use a phone you can use a Labradar in your sleep. It's not perfect, but my kid could figure it out in a few minutes. I prefer the labradar. If you shoot suppressors get the labradar. If you don't want to waste rounds just getting speed, get the labradar. If your just looking for something cheap to send a few rounds over, it's not going to be worth it.
If you have few rifles that you precision load for, like I said, buy once, cry once.
It's currently the best we have, but its not necessary for everyone.
 

Rick Richard

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2014
Messages
4,125
Location
North Carolina
Labradar & Magnetospeed two different technologies. If have the $ go Labradar. The Magnetospeed uses electro-magnetic field interruptions caused by whizzing bullets at set distances to calculate velocity - not light dependent. Getting the thing to stay in place might involve duct tape or buying a rail type attachment.. The rail mount looks like the best way to go for fine accuracy . The rail might involve drilling then screwing the rail onto a fine wood stock but needs a short barrel to work or possibly some extension sticking out from the stock forearm.
I have a magnetospeed that has been used on just about every different type of barrel contour/brake setup and have never had to do what you suggested.
 

Recent Posts

Top