Shooting after cataracts surgery

falconew

I am set for June 9 for the start of surgeries on my eyes for cataract. I am just getting into long range shooting. I have a few different options on lenses for my eyes. But **** the price tag. I was thinking just a regular lens for distance. Anyone have cataracts and does it effect your shooting? And what type of lens did you have.

Normal distance lenses work for me. Scopes and field glasses work without glasses now. I even shot some pretty remarkable targets with some peep sighted rifles. I've not been able to do that for decades.
Do get astigmatism correction if you need it. And you will need readers for arms length and closer.
Hope yours work out as well as mine did. 20/20 in right and 20/30 in left.

Cataract surgeon here. As Cemetery above stated, astigmatism is usually the only thing that will mess with your vision in a scope. That is where the eye is shaped more like a football than a basketball. It is correctable with glasses, but if you shoot without glasses the reticle will tend to be out of focus. Depending on your eye prescription you may or may not have a significant amount of astigmatism, but about 1/3 of the population has enough to need glasses.