Shooters that do not hunt?

myshootinstinks

I'm surprised at the number of shooters I encounter that do not go hunting. They've either given it up for various reasons or never hunted to begin with, they enjoy shooting by its own merit.
I'll admit I'm not the diehard I used to be, age takes it's toll on the body. I still enjoy getting outdoors and Fall is my favorite time of year.

I'm surprised at the number of shooters I encounter that do not go hunting. They've either given it up for various reasons or never hunted to begin with, they enjoy shooting by its own merit.
I'll admit I'm not the diehard I used to be, age takes it's toll on the body. I still enjoy getting outdoors and Fall is my favorite time of year.

I guess I started shooting, in earnest, to develop the best possible loads for hunting. But over the years I have just enjoyed shooting and the accomplishment that you feel when you've had a really good day just punching small groups in paper. I shoot every week that the weather permits but I only fire a few rounds per year at critters.

I still love hunting and being afield, but spending time at our club is a pleasurable activity all by itself.

Last edited:
I'm not surprised. I work with a few guys that love to shoot and don't hunt. My wife and nephew love to go to the range but neither one would think of shooting a critter. Funny thing is all of these people love eating the venison that I love to hunt!
Some were born to hunt and some can be led to hunt but there's some that want no part of hunting.
No shooting enthusiasts that I know will put down hunting and I give them the same respect.

While I do both I find shooting itself very enjoyable. I think hunters can get tunnel vision and not realize how many shooters there are that shoot for the enjoyment/competition and have no interest in game.

Different strokes!