setting up long range gun

bcoving

I'm just learning about long range shooting. Can someone explain to me their process for setting a gun up. What I'm confused on is after load developement what is your process. The way I understand it you need to shoot your gun at each distance then change the BC in the ballistics software to make the drop charts line up with the actual MOA drops that your gun had for each distance? Can someone explain from start to finish how they would set a new custom gun and new scope up for long range shooting.

The two big question marks in determining your trajectory are velocity and BC. Most manufacturer BC's are questionable. Bryan Litz has done some great work testing the BC's of various bullets and has published a book which will probably answer a lot of your questions.

http://www.longrangehunting.com/forums/f19/new-book-applied-ballistics-long-range-shooting-43573/

His data has also been imported to the JBM online ballistics calc.

JBM - Calculations

This site also has a function for detrmining BC through differential velocites.

Most BC's use the G1 drag factor which is really not best suited for LR type bullets. If you can determine the G7 BC for your bullet your drop card data will be more accurate. There is an article on the in the technical articles section, again, written by Bryan.

http://www.longrangehunting.com/forums/f5/berger-bullets-move-g7-standard-bc-bryan-litz-44399/

Velocity is the other variable which can be known with the use of a chronograph, however, not all chrony's are 100% accurate. Some may be up to 5% off. If you have a way of comparing to some other chronies you should be able to gat a good idea of how accurate it is.

When shooting at various ranges you want to record all the enviromental data, like pressure, temp and elevation.