S&W 500 Loads

805_Sniper

I bought a S&W 500 with a 4" barrel and wanted to see if anyone has a "Manageable" Grizzly load? I'm looking forward to hunting in Wyoming this year (pending draw results), and wanted a load that was accurate & deadly. Bullet types, powder, primer info would be greatly appreciated. I bought some Starline Brass. I have never used Starline before. Hopefully it will hold up to the thunder of the 500!

In my 8 inch I use 43gr of H110 and winchester LR primer pushing a 350gr XTP/MAG. This is a great load out past 100yards. it hits in a 3inch circle with 5 shot off bags. I'm wanting to say its pushing 1,800FPS. I'll look and my books and see exactly what it is pushing them at.

I'm not sure if the 4 inch would be a good one to shot this load out of might want to back off a bit and work up.

Well, there's plenty of loads that'll kill a grizzly stone cold dead, no problem. The hard part is getting him to shoot the gun!:)

A 4" . . . Ouch!

WLR Primer, H-110 & the 500grn Hornady in my 7.5" BFR. It's not the nicest load on the shooter (BFR's don't have a muzzle break) but I would be willing to bet it will stomp the *&$% out of an old Grizz! H-110 has been the best powder in my limited experinece loading for the .500, good velocity & great accuracy.

We have three of the 4 inch models in my group and all of us love them! It is very surprising how accurate they are, and it never fails to put a smile on the face of anyone that shoots it! you can feel the raw power in the recoil. my wife knows how to hold a revolver, and she can put a full cylinder into a small paper plate at 15 yards all day long. Does it have alot of recoil. yes, but with that comes alot of knock down power. i think you will find that it is very managable.

we have two loads that we have played with. one is the 500 grain xtp, and the other is the 350 grain xtp. Its been awhile since we loaded up any 500 grainers, so i cannot recall the exact load data.