recommendations

bast0573

I'm fairly new to extreme long range shooting and have never entered any shooting competitions. I'm interested in hearing what everyone thinks about a good rifle. I have a pretty extensive history with guns and ex military. My downfall... I Dont know anything about optics. I've read forum after forum on here when trying to match a grade A scope with the savage 338 lapua (which I wanted to get this week) but want to hear what rifle/scope combo you guys would get with a $3500 budget. I can go as high as 5000, but would like to stay around 3500-4000. I'd like a rifle and scope that I can use for hunting deer and bear and also able to enter some competition shooting. That may be a little much to ask, so if I had to choose between the two I guess I'd want it for competition shooting. Thanks in advance! Can't wait to hear what everyone thinks!

The type of competition will make a difference on the choices. If you watch the classifieds on LRH, Accurate Shooter, and Snipershide, there are some killer deals on custom rifles and scopes. Once I got a custom rifle and a Nightforce, my shooting greatly improved, and I haven't had the urge for a factory rifle since. Gary

The type of competition will make a difference on the choices. If you watch the classifieds on LRH, Accurate Shooter, and Snipershide, there are some killer deals on custom rifles and scopes. Once I got a custom rifle and a Nightforce, my shooting greatly improved, and I haven't had the urge for a factory rifle since. Gary