Question on cartridge choice

jayph

Forgive me if this has been talked about as I am sure it has. I went back 7 pages and couldn't find anything so I will ask.

What cartridge is the best combination of long range energy, and barrel life? I know high velocity comes with a price but some have to be better than others. I am looking for a cartridge that I can practice with alot over the summer months but not have to rebarrel when I am done. I will be going on a trophy mule deer hunt this fall and a long shot could present itself. For now nothing past 750 if at the end of summer I am comfortable with that range. Longer as my abillity allows me in the future. Comments on barrel length with caliber sugestions would also be apreciated.

Background: I am from Canada I have been hunting for 10 years and will be turning 25 this year. I am comfortable out to 400 yards now with a stable rest and have taken game with 1 shot kills at that range. I am recoil sensitive in the lightweight guns but have shot my fathers 300wm Sendero many times with no problem. I will plan to have the above rifle weight in around 11-12 pounds no optics. I am set up for reloading so factory ammo is not a requirement. Thats about all for now off to read and obsorb some more info this seems like a great website to learn. I will be going to work in a bit so I will check back in tomorrow thanks in advance to all that help. (I know my grammer and spelling is terrible :))

Jason

edit: I suppose I should include the rifles I already own.
Remington 700 BDL .270 Win
Remington 700 ADL .22-250 Rem
Remington 700 LSS .30-06
Remington 870 Express Super Magnum Camo with 30" barrel
Savage Mark II BTVS .22LR
Savage 93 Custom .22Mag
Custom Target rifle (currently being built) 6.5x47 Lapua

Last edited: