Nosler brass strikes again

Dmagna

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 30, 2018
Messages
465
Location
New York
Looks like nosler changed their 280ai brass. It’s now head stamped different and weighs 20 grains less. Hope this doesn’t mess too much stuff up with my loads.
 

logman48

Active Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2015
Messages
38
Don't mess with Nosler brass. Buy 280 Rem brass and fire form to 280 AI. IMHO Norma is better brass. I have 6 firings on my Norma brass. I got 3 on Nosler brass and started loosing primer pockets. They weren't hot rodded either.
 

Lefty7mmstw

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 13, 2012
Messages
4,714
Location
Dakota del norte
sounds fun... you'll probably have to go up a touch on your powder charge on the new stuff... gotta confirm first I suppose... And people wonder why I stay with winchester and remington if I can. I've tossed 20-30 year old examples on the scale and they are usually within a few grains of recent stuff...
 

MagnumManiac

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2008
Messages
2,270
Yeah, they did buy a brass plant...but they are still contracting Norma to make the majority of their brass still.
Only a few high run cartridges are being made by Nosler at their plant in their cheap line of loaded ammo, none of it is available to the handloader as of yet.
My buddy works there.

Cheers.
 

L.Sherm

Well-Known Member
LRH Team Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2017
Messages
2,839
Yeah, they did buy a brass plant...but they are still contracting Norma to make the majority of their brass still.
Only a few high run cartridges are being made by Nosler at their plant in their cheap line of loaded ammo, none of it is available to the handloader as of yet.
My buddy works there.

Cheers.
I know this guy his wife works for Nosler.
 

Attachments

SMK1000plus

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2015
Messages
284
Location
Jacksonville, FL
Looks like nosler changed their 280ai brass. It’s now head stamped different and weighs 20 grains less. Hope this doesn’t mess too much stuff up with my loads.
Would you mind keeping us posted on the results of the performance and durability of the new Nosler 280 AI brass, as opposed to what you have experienced with your older lot?

I recently purchased a Savage Axis in 280 AI. I had wanted one for years but, have so many, 270 Wins, 7mm-08s, 7mm Rem Mags, 308 Wins, 30-06s and 300 Win Mags that I just didn't buy one. When a very reputable Gunbroker seller had the Axis 280 AI BNIB and it was 15 minutes left with a bid of $180 + $25 S&H I couldn't let it pass. I put in a bid of $250, but won it for $185 + $25!

I found some new Nolser 280 AI 140gr Ballistic Tip loaded ammunition for sale at what new 280 AI brass cost. I bought a case of it to harvest fire formed brass and save some work & components. Though not fond of the bullet ,or the weight for 7mm/.284, they were pretty accurate. Haven't started loading for it yet though. Too many other load developments in process at the moment.

Guys, I would greatly appreciate any information on your experience the new nosler brass.

Dmagna, any chance you could post a picture of the old and new Nosler 280 AI headstamps, tagging which is the older and which is the new? I'd love to compare it to what I have.

Thanks,
Kevin
 

Backcountry sports

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2019
Messages
561
Location
Bend Oregon
Don't mess with Nosler brass. Buy 280 Rem brass and fire form to 280 AI. IMHO Norma is better brass. I have 6 firings on my Norma brass. I got 3 on Nosler brass and started loosing primer pockets. They weren't hot rodded either.
I dont use nosler brass always no consistent making less than 3 miles from my house I rather order and wait than use there inconsistent brass use adg or norma or Winchester if available
 

djfergus

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2015
Messages
1,866
Looks like nosler changed their 280ai brass. It’s now head stamped different and weighs 20 grains less. Hope this doesn’t mess too much stuff up with my loads.
I feel your pain, but on the bright side: you've got some more volume for powder. You can either run a little more velocity or tweak it back to the same velocity you were running with less pressure.. Yeah, I hate having to retune loads for different brass.
 

Trending threads

Top