Lightweight Thumbhole Stock

I'm just about ready to begin working on my first lightweight hunting rifle...the days of packing heavy rifles for miles are done for me... Getting weak I guess :)

Carbon Fiber...space age materials are fairly new to me in conjunction with rifles... Until the last few years I gave little thought to weight...just wanted a gun that shoots...

So this is my plan...I just did some trading for a brand new Remington model 700, 300 ultra for the action..(I'll soon be selling the barrel/stock/trigger) I'm planning on keeping it 300 ultra, timney trigger, proof research carbon fiber barrel....my question is stock options...

I really like Thumbhole Stocks, have had many and have liked them since I started shooting one when I was a boy..so I would really prefer to have Thumbhole...

Is anyone out there building LIGHTWEIGHT, strong, possible carbon fiber thumbhole stocks???? I see plenty of non thumbhole, and I guess if it really comes down to it to keep it light I'll go with one but I really want my cake and to eat it too...thanks ahead of time guys... I really appreciate it...

Also if anyone could give me a rough value on a new stainless 300 ultra barrel, factory stock, and trigger that would be awesome...

Check out McMillian Lazaroni Thumbhole. They come in two styles now. I have one I put on my 300 win and if memory serves correctly it was just under 2 lbs. Mine is the first design with the higher cheek piece.

Jeff

I'm just about ready to begin working on my first lightweight hunting rifle...the days of packing heavy rifles for miles are done for me... Getting weak I guess :)

Carbon Fiber...space age materials are fairly new to me in conjunction with rifles... Until the last few years I gave little thought to weight...just wanted a gun that shoots...