First bedding job! Axis/Boyds

DryShave

As the title says, this is my first attempt at a glass bedding job, the bedding compound is presently curing and I really hope I am not creating a one piece rifle.
The project is to create a very affordable rifle with which I can learn the ins and outs of long range shooting. This is not my idea of an "ultimate" long range rig, but an affordable first effort.
The action is a Savage Axis in 30-06.
The stock is a Boyds featherweight thumbhole.
I got some grade 5 bolts from the fastener store and cut their heads off. These align the action to the stock. I drilled holes around the two bedding areas to allow the bedding compound (JB Weld) to grip the stock. I then coated the action and bolts in release agent (Sno-Seal), applied JB to the stock and lightly clamped in place.

Pics below,

C6E2E3AD-6DDD-40D1-BA72-D9D4180F95A7.jpg
[/URL]

21052274-6980-458B-9FA7-96042AC9E028.jpg
[/URL]

732A5E45-1906-417D-A225-4C9D4A0901B7.jpg
[/URL]

4313E143-221C-4F55-981F-701B0BE377FA.jpg
[/URL]

I'm wondering what the results will be since the lug is physically attached to the action. Just wondering how much play will be left after the bedding job

It's 20 hours since I clamped it together. I really had to work at it to get the action out of the stock. What I found is my release agent didn't work around the front action screw. When the two pieces separated, a good chunk of the stock came out with the action. See pics.
So it's time for round two. I cleaned off the action, reapplied a heavy coat of release agent, scuffed up the areas to be redone, reapplied the bedding compound, and clamped it all together.
Lessons learned? Don't skimp on release agent. Don't give up if things don't go perfectly the first time.
I will update in 24 hrs.

8130CF21-2F99-4C36-A6B0-BDCBDCA7CDEF.jpg
[/URL]

48A8E312-1F1F-4627-8A71-2CD8DB220D44.jpg
[/URL]

59C32CEC-9160-4672-97EC-B63F282B281C.jpg
[/URL]

76F8F1FD-7378-4C53-AF0D-BDCCFD2FB3A8.jpg
[/URL]