Accuracy gone?

rdmega

I have had a Savage 10fp for about 5 years now in .308, up until a couple weeks ago I have had a cheaper Nikon scope on it. It shot really well, I used to hold uner 1 MOA all the time out to about 400 yards. I changed it over to the new Vortex Viper PST FFP. I dont know if this is related or not but I finally got it sighted in at 100 yards, when I went to zero at 200 I was all over the paper. So .75 at 100 yards and 8 inches at 200. These were handloads done by a friend, also I noticed a little copper inside the barrel right near the crown.

I am not good at diagnosing problems and was wondering where to start? I guess ammo first as well as some really strong cleaner on the barrel. Any other thoughts?

Thanks guys.

I have had a Savage 10fp for about 5 years now in .308, up until a couple weeks ago I have had a cheaper Nikon scope on it. It shot really well, I used to hold uner 1 MOA all the time out to about 400 yards. I changed it over to the new Vortex Viper PST FFP. I dont know if this is related or not but I finally got it sighted in at 100 yards, when I went to zero at 200 I was all over the paper. So .75 at 100 yards and 8 inches at 200. These were handloads done by a friend, also I noticed a little copper inside the barrel right near the crown.

I am not good at diagnosing problems and was wondering where to start? I guess ammo first as well as some really strong cleaner on the barrel. Any other thoughts?

Thanks guys.
The first thing I'd do is go back to the old scope and give it a cursory cleaning before firing. Then try some 100 and 200 yds groups with the OLD ammo.

There's a very good chance something came a part/loose in the scope.

.308's are well known for going many thousands of rounds before there is enough throat erosion to cause a loss of accuracy.