7mm mag

BigA1976

Hey y'all..I'm new to the mag word and I have acquired a 7mm Rem Mag....I hunt Louisiana whitetails and would like input on a good round. Thanks!

The 7mm magnum is my favorite caliber. However, I live in New Mexico at 7000' and not in Louisiana so first I would ask what are your average distances deer are usually shot at there? Second, Do you hand load or use factory ammunition?

I live in Louisana an have been shooting a 7 mag forever (it seems like) you will love it! One of my favorite loads is 160 Gameking, CCI 250 mag primer, 64gr of IMR 4350. It's a hammer on whitetails from 10 yards to 500yrds. (Yes I've killed deer that far with em). Hope this helps.

DT

Big, load the 168 Bergers with H4831SC for two relatives' 7mm RM. Very accurate in Rem 700 and Ruger 77. Down side is they use them on elk and mule deer. Possibly a bit tough on a whitetail unless shot is in the ribs. Good luck