300 Win Mag Build and Loading Questions.

Wisner74

Hello Everyone,

I sure hope these are not stupid questions.

I am building a rifle(gunsmith is). Defiant Hunter action-Obermeyer 26" Barrel 1:12 twist.

The barrel is on its way to the gunsmith and not chambered yet. This is a hunting rifle for Elk, Sheep, Goat and what ever else i can draw. I am hoping this will be an accurate Long Range Rifle. What i think I need, is help on a Load/bullet selection for this gun so I can give the gunsmith an Idea of what bullet I will be shooting. From what I have read on here is I don't want to tell him to chamber it to shoot all ammo off the shelf.

I am new to reloading but a quick learner.

1.) What bullet and weight for this set-up would you recommend??

2.) What powder, primer, complete load détails do you recommend??

3.) Do I tell the gunsmith the exact bullet I want to load?? for example a 190 Berger VLD or 190 Nosler Accubond LR???

4.) Any recommendations on bullets would be great. It seems the Nosler has a higher BC than the Berger.

I sure appreciate all the help I can get.

Hey Wisner, I question the 1:12 twist? Might want a tighter twist for heavy bullets which is what works great in the 300. The 2 powders that have worked the best in my 300 are H1000 & IMR4831. I would lean more to Accubonds than Bergers as I have had train wrecks shooting Bergers at anything bigger than a coyote.
PM me & we can trade phone numbers if you would like. The 300 is my go to gun.
Thanks, Kirk

On the 1:12 twist.... I talked to Boots Obermeyer to order a barrel. Told him I wanted a 1:10 twist to shoot 180-200 grain bullets for a long range rifle.He wanted to know exactly what I was hunting. . After I gave home the info he said he was going to make me a number 4 fluted barrel 26" with 1:12 twist. He said any twist faster in a 5r cut rifle barrel at 300 WM velocity has caused jacket seperation.

His exact words are below: