When Do You Give Up On A Rifle

kimberyote

I have been reloading for a 7 rem mag for several years. Bought it used. Had it glass bedded & trigger adjusted. Redding Type s full length bushing dies. Tried 8 different bullet/ powder combo. Just shoots MOA w/ Leupy 3-10 CDS. It has a slight burr on case shoulder in chamber. Sent to smith but still there. Just not as bad.
My problem is reloading. Last year experienced case head separation after 2 reloadings that feed stiff. Ordered new brass.
Shot ok with virgin loading. However, I am having difficulty sizing for smooth feeding. I can set the shoulder back with no improvement. I sent 5 fired cases to redding that they sized and results were the same (3 cases).
I covered sized brass from redding and my sized brass with a black marker to show contact points with nothing conclusive.
Any ideas on what to try next as far as reloading? If I would sell & buy a new rifle what would you recommend for Mule deer in Colorado? I am thinking about a 6.5 or another .284 with NO BELT!
Then which rifle for around a grand? Thanks in advance LRH members!

I think that there is probably something seriously wrong with the chamber. If what you've been doing hasn't fixed it I would say re-chamber.
If you sell it I would probably go to a .270 WSM or 7 WSM if you can find it in a Winchester coyote light.

If the chamber or barrel is bad you will never get it to shoot good.

It sounds like you have a bad chamber or head space.

I would recommend putting a new barrel (Premium) on it and have a new chamber cut for it.

You should be able to get the action trued, new barrel and chamber done , and stay under your budget.

J E CUSTOM

If the chamber or barrel is bad you will never get it to shoot good.

It sounds like you have a bad chamber or head space.

I would recommend putting a new barrel (Premium) on it and have a new chamber cut for it.

You should be able to get the action trued, new barrel and chamber done , and stay under your budget.