What is your occupation?

arrow

I am currently in the military and have about a year left on my contract. The plan is to go to school at Montana State University in Bozeman. Over the last 4 years I have concentrated on one thing and that isn't going to really help me out in the real world. I have been pondering and talking to people about what I could major in and what I could do for a career but still not sure. I figured I would ask some of the people here with similar interests as I what they do for a living and maybe get some ideas.

Thanks,

Zack

I'm a bail bondsman. Thou would not recommend the profession. If I bade it to do over again I would go into the medical field.

Arrow,

First off let me say that a stint in the military will help you very much in the real world. I spent 3 years in the Navy back in the early 70s and that experience helped me figure out what to do for a career. I was in the Naval Air Force in a squadron that trained pilots to fly attack bombers. One day I noticed some of the guys working on the electronic stuff on the aircraft. I started asking questions, got a book or two on electronics and I was hooked. When I got out, I got a degree in electrical engineering and had a blast for the next 30 years designing electronic gizmos for the aerospace industry. My gizmos got used on rockets, space vehicles, satellites, jet aircraft, ICBMs, and lots of other stuff.

I didn't know that nobody was hiring engineers when I started school to get my degree and I probably wouldn't have cared if I did know as I loved doing this work (to me it was a hobby that I got paid to do). By the time I did graduate, there was a shortage of engineers and I could write my own ticket which of course I did.

The bottom line. Figure out what you are good at and like to do (take a test if you have to) and find a way to get paid to do it. Don't spend you life doing something you don't love or your career will turn out to be a job. Good luck.:)