To AI or not to AI

Discussion in 'Long Range Hunting & Shooting' started by Lahunter76, May 26, 2019.

Help Support Long Range Hunting by donating:

1. Lahunter76

Lahunter76 Well-Known Member LRH Team Member

i am a novice in the world or reloading, just wanted to get that out there. I see alot of different AI rounds from 260, 25-06, 280 but I guess my question just sticking with the 280, what does a 280AI bring to table vs just getting a 7mm rem mag. I mean I get it, it’s not too hard to fire form the brass, but just asking if it’s worth that

2. Hespco

Hespco Well-Known Member

From chronographing I have done there is very little to be gained by going to AI. Usually well under 100fps. If you just like to tinker & spend more time reloading an AL rifle will for sure take more time & money forming brass.

3. FEENIX

FEENIX Well-Known Member LRH Team Member

It's all relative and boils down to personal choice. Only you can answer that, for us that have AIs, yes.

Varberger757, dmoon, RH300UM and 5 others like this.
  4. adk hunter

adk hunter Well-Known Member

It's all a chase. Some wonder why and I say give me more powder, efficiency, better bullets than circa 1980 131HH and shake a little fairy dust RL26 and what I have isn't just something that got AI'd years ago...Lob lead if y'all want I LOVE ACKLEY!!!

5. snox801

snox801 Well-Known Member

I like my improved cases. I usually don’t start my load work till after 100 rounds anyway so the barrel is broke in and I enjoy shooting. So I form my brass that way. I think it also depends on barrel length the more powder seems to like longer barrels. That does of course depend on the cartridge. I like them.

alcesgigas and Alibiiv like this.
  6. 26Reload

26Reload Well-Known Member

Nothing to be had with a 280ai vs a 7rm....
    Everyone says go heavy bullet for caliber....so why choose a 280ai over a 7rm.....the 280ai loses after 150gr bullets.....