sticky bolt sometimes

luke

I worked a load for a buddy's rifle with used remington brass. The load consists of 73grs of retumbo with a winchester magnum primer and 162gr A-Max bullet. About 1 in 5 rounds it is hard to open the bolt. The max that i have found for this load is 73.5. Other than the occasional sticky bolt there is no signs of pressure. I have been loading for about 5 years and never had this problem. Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Bolt lift.....

#1: How sure that your powder measure is dropping 73grains? (Just asking, trying to check off things on the list)

#2: Brass from the same lot? (Inconsistant brass thickness can cause some pressure issues)

#3: Is the bolt hard to lift on round number one or round number five? Or just whenever? (Heating)

Scott

Back off the load 1/2 a gr. And Scott is also right. The brass maybe from different lotts. Weigh the brass and sort them according to weight.gun)

The brass is all remington head stamp but it is some that i just got here or there. Most was picked up at the range(once fired) that guys just left.I hand measure every charge of powder so that is consistent. One thing I did notice today was that some of the brass after being resized and case trimmed would fit tight in the chamber, even without primer ,powder or bullets. Could this be some or maybe all of the problem I am having. thanks again.

I ran into that once with some range brass that had been loaded to extreme high pressures.Some had expanded so much,that the primer pockets would not even hold a primer.Every once in awhile I 'd get one that would give me a sticky bolt lift.It wasn't that my load was too hot,it was the brass was bad.Got rid of that brass and my problems went away.

Back off the load 1/2 a gr. And Scott is also right. The brass maybe from different lotts. Weigh the brass and sort them according to weight.gun)

+1

Back off 1/2 to 1 grain or seat the bullet .005 to .010 deeper.(Shorter COL).

J E CUSTON