6.5x284 sticky bolt

Gray R

Hey guys I'm relatively new to this so bare with me if my question is dumb. I ran a max load I think it was 51.5 grains of rl-17 with winchester mag primer and 130 accubonds the bolt was real heavy to lift but the group was down around the .2s or .3s. My question is how do I maintain accuracy while backing down the load?
Thanks in advance for anything

Wondering...the way you wrote this sounds like you just ran the max load. Did you work up with lesser powder charges or not? You will have to settle for a lesser powder charge. If it isn't accurate you can tweak the seating depth or in some cases neck tension can help too.

I have a question. Do you know your chamber dimensions? The reason I ask is that many 6.5-284s have tight necks. There is a possibility that your loads have insufficient clearance for proper neck release.

A few months ago I helped someone with their 6.5-284 rifle. They were using Norma brass. The upper loads were erratic in velocity and group size. For grins I pushed a bullet into a fired round's neck and it wouldn't slip in! If they had used Lapua brass which are thicker I'd bet there would have been a very sticky bolt.

The owner consulted his reamer dimension and compared it to the loaded round dimensions to discover the neck release was .001" per side! Only a few loaded rounds had their neck ODs measured. There might have been a few rounds with even less release! Brass neck wall thickness does vary some and any larger than the ones we measured would raise velocities and throw the bullet out of the group. Once the necks were turned for a .0025" clearance per side the rifle became more consistent.

Hope this gives you some ideas. Report back on your findings please.

Exellent points.

Also, is this once fired or multi fired brass? FL sized, neck only, body sized, shoulder bumped?