Reloading Investment

Jacktrude

What would it cost for me to start doing my own reloading? Remember I have never done this before. I plan on reloading 308 ammo for 1000 yard shooting and 223 for shorter distances.

Thanks, Jack

I think you can get set-up to load highly precise ammo for $800 or so, a fair amount less if you go with some lower-end equipment on the front end. Reloading .308 and .223 - are you looking for volume (ie progressive press) or slow and meticulous (single stage press). That decision alone will drive what you get and how much it will cost.

Mainly looking to reload for 1000 yards or better. And over the counter for this type ammo is large so I am also looking to save money over the long term. Not looking for large volumes just percision and more kick.

you can get a good set up for anywhere from $500.00 (single stage) to $1000.00 (progressive) that will have you set for a very long time.
If you go cheaper you will still get high quality ammo but, you will most likely be getting upgrades in the near future.
Hornady sells the locknload AP kit where all you will need after the kit is your dies and shell plates. Also they sell the locknload classic kit where again you will need dies and shell holders. Of course Lee, RCBS and lyman also offer good kits.
You will get many responses here (we all have our own humble opinions)
No matter wich way you go I do advise that you get another type of scale (if your kit comes with a beam scale buy a digital and visa versa) it is always a good idea to have a second scale just for verifying. Also it is important to have 2 differant manuals from differant publishers to verify load data. if you cannot verify a load from a differant source dont use it.