Point Blank Range sight in

rufous

In the past I have always zeroed my big game rifles at either 250 yards (for my 300 Win Mag) or 275 yards (for my 7mm Rem Mag) in order to have the bullet no higher than 3" at its highest point which comes at about 150 yards. I am considering zeroing my 300 Win Mag for 300 yards but am wondering if I might mess up and wound an animal by hitting too high at mid ranges.

I have over 20 years of big game hunting experience and have taken deer at 450 yards and 508 yards, black bear at 530 and 540 yards (as well as many deer and bear at closer ranges) along with 2 mountain lions at 330 yards and 400 yards so I am not blowing smoke when I say that I am good with my rifles in the field. No doubt there are many here who are much better than me but I am no newby to this longer range hunting.

I am likely going to switch loads in my 300 Win Mag. I have been using the Barnes 180 TSX at about 3000 fps but I think I will switch to the Barnes 200 LRX. I am getting an average of 2985 from my 25" Broughton 5C barrel using the F215 primer, WW case and Ramshot Magnum powder. I have a Leupold VX3 3.5-10 reticle with their Boone and Crockett reticle. Assuming the ballistic coefficient is truly 0.546 as Barnes claims and elevation is 3000 feet if I zero this 200 grain LRX load at 300 yards my bullets trajectory would be within 1" of point of aim at 400, 500, 550 and 600 yards using the B&C reticle's additional aiming points.

So far I have only fired one group at 500 yards with this new 200 grain load. I got a 3.65" 3 shot group in breezy conditions. My old 180 TSX load was similarly accurate. I decided to try the 200 LRX partly for the fun of it and partly to reduce wind drift at longer ranges.