Noob question on rifle quality

The Oregonian

So I am a noob to LRH - actually haven't gotten into it yet but spending more time at the range during spring and summer months to relax and have fun...as the kids get older those peaceful escapes are more helpful than ever.

But to get back on subject....I have never really taken any big game past 300 yds. Other than consistent accuracy, what it something like a Cooper or on the more extreme end, a full custom rifle going to get me? I.e. if I take game at 300 yds and in, is a std off the shelf rifle, with maybe a trued up action and possibly rebarreled, going to get me that a full custom won't? I do realize that an off the shelf rifle with trued action and new barrel is probably approaching a basic Cooper.

It seems like to me that while the custom quality will be higher and can be appreciated by those with a higher skill set than I possess, it may throwing money away from a purely functionally standpoint. Now I appreciate fine quality much more now, as I have gotten older and have a little more $$ to spend on things that I appreciate...my nice over under will not kill birds and deader than my 20 ga pump that I have had for 30 yrs, but it is beautiful and a joy to take in the field.

So, long way of asking whether the custom quality is something I will notice from a performance perspective at < 300 yds, or whether it is more an appreciation of a quality rifle that I can expect for the additional $$?

You are correct that a basic Cooper will be close to the same price as an off the shelf rifle that is customized with new custom barrel and stock. Coopers are great shooting rifles with custom quality and accuracy. A 6.5x284 Cooper is on my bucket list.

Some advantages of going the custom build route is a greater selection of custom barrels options, lengths, twists, contours, fluting, etc and a great selection of quality after market stocks and maybe bottom metal.