Noob question on BDC reticles

archanfire

I am starting to look into BDC reticle scopes, and my biggest issue(that I see), are the majority seem to have exposed/non-locking turrets. So, my question is, why are exposed/non-locking turrets so common when the reticle does most(if not all) ranging and compensating for you? This question is more directed towards 'Christmas Tree' style scopes. My concern would be bumping the turrets(on hunt, competition, etc) and missing your mark when coming time to shoot.

Again, I am new to this concept, so be gentle :p

Thanks all

Last edited:
Turret/reticle combinations are always a compromise.

There are many scopes with ranging reticles that don't have exposed turrets, but you are correct about the dangers of a turret getting moved while toting your rifle around.

Also, to clarify terminology, BDC usually indicates "Ballistic Drop Compensation". These are usually tailored for some generic drop profile in yards/meters (e.g "Hold here at 300, here at 400, etc"). These are distinct from "Measuring" or "graduated" reticles, which ignore ballistic information, and simply have angular measurements (MOA or Mils) etched in the reticle (e.g. "The distance between hashes is always 1 MOA"). I personally am not a fan of BDC types, as they are usually a "one size fits none" compromise in my opinion. MOA/MIL reticles are universal and more versatile.

The reason for exposed turrets on any scope is the speed for adjustment. IMO, shooting at longer ranges requires adjustments that are more precise than a BDC, or even graduated reticles, can provide.