No Such Thing As An Unintended Discharge

Zen Archery

Has anyone ever experienced a mechanical unintended discharge?
I worked as a range master for 3 years and only experienced 2 unintended discharge while calling the line. One was a bolt gun that had a failed safety on an old Savage. He was manipulating the rifle with the safety selected to on. He brushed the trigger during manipulation and the rifle fired 10-15 feet which caused everyone to gasp.

The second was a AR15. When the operator released the bolt, the gun went off even with the safety on. You could tell by his response something wasn't right. He tried it again the same thing happened. He believed the firing pin was too long and was causing the round to ignite. As you can imagine we asking him to stop!

The first example was definitely human error. Never put finger on trigger until ready to shoot. Second was mechanical anomaly.

I wasn't there but a coworker shared how a guy chambered a round and caused it to go off. He swears his finger wasn't on the trigger since he was cycling the rifle.

Landowner was adamant "no unintended discharge." For insurance reasons, obviously. But there are those weird mechanical issues that aren't completely impossible to eliminate.

My favorite are guys that would shoot their chronograph. Happened a few times a month.

My other favorite was guys who would accidentally shoot the wrong targets. "Hey who the #*?! is shooting # (fill in the number).

You had to qualify to shoot beyond 200 yards. We had specific red steel targets only for qualification. You could shoot them as long as people weren't trying to qualify. We literally would yell, "qualifier 500 yards." Which meant don't shoot the dang red 500 yard target. Inevitably some yahoo would plink it.