New LR shooter

Fowler

Greetings,
I am new to long range shooting and do not want to spend on a custom made rifle. I have looked at and am considering the following rifles in alphabetical order:

o Browning X-Bolt
o Kimber
o Sako, Vanguard
o Weatherby

Would any of you have knowledge of these rifles for accuracy at 400 - 600 yds?

Thank you.

Fowler

IMO, you've got your apples mixed with your oranges. They're all good rifles but you're mixing some pretty moderately priced hunting rifles with some pretty expensive high end stuff. Did you mean Weatherby "Vanguard"?
Any of the rifles you listed will easily handle the ranges you're interested in.

IMO, you've got your apples mixed with your oranges. They're all good rifles but you're mixing some pretty moderately priced hunting rifles with some pretty expensive high end stuff. Did you mean Weatherby "Vanguard"?
Any of the rifles you listed will easily handle the ranges you're interested in.

Agreed! SAKO's TRG line are absolutely awesome but way out of my price range.

Having said that, with no specific model, "my" choice would be ...

1. SAKO
2. Kimber
3. Browning X-Bolt
4. Weatherby Vanguard

Fowler, welcome to LRH and enjoy!

Ed

You should take a look at the ruger percision. If you don't mind the tactical look they are amazing for the price. I believe it is the best bang for the buck out right now. Many guys shooting 1000 yards with ease. Amazing for a $1200 rifle. Now put on a decent scope and have at it. I have one on order in 6.5 creed for my dad to use at longer ranges. If it's not your style any of the rifles mentioned will get you what you want with good ammo and scope.

are you shooting at jackrabbits? moose? sako 85 heavy barrel varmint is one of the better ones.

Fearnowind,
yes, thank you. I did mean the Weatherby Vanguard. The reasearch I have done on it indicates that the barrels are made by Howa in Japan former arms manuf. of Arisika(not sure of spelling).