Need opinion - magpul hunter stock - 700bdl - sa

Muddyboots

Opinion on this stock for factory replacement? Pro and con? Problems? Drop in ease? Staying with floor plate since action is 300WSM.
Thanks,
Muddy

I have very little experience with them, but the one I shot (270 wsm) was very comfortable and easy to set up behind, seemed to soak up recoil very well. Didn't recoil any worse than my 6.5x55 that I was shooting in the same session. Thinking of switching a couple of my cheap stocks over to them.

I put my .308win into one. Here's my personal opinions and experience. I have unusually long arms, adjustable LOP is still too short, but for normal people should be just fine. I dont personally like the angle of the grip, would prefer more vertical, didnt realize this until I had shot it for a while, but finally decided I would like it more vertical. I like the adjustable comb, just wish that was included in the box, but would drive the price up so no big deal. As far a drop in, it is ok. I ended up needing to play with torque in action screws to find where it settled in and shot ok, ended up 70 in/lbs on both. I checked contact on the bedding block and recoil lug areas, ended up bedding the lug as I was only getting contact at the very top, and ended up having to relieve a few places where I was getting uneven contact down the receiver. Overall it's a great stock for the price, easy solution for somebody who wants a drop in and not a lot of fuss. I can see most people dropping it in, screwing it down tight and never looking back, but I just wasnt happy with what I was seeing down range so I started chasing gremlins. I'm the type who cant just leave anything alone.