Is this rifle the right one to use

Tas5937

I am new to long range shooting. The local gun shop near my house has a sale going on for the t/c venture. I already have this rifle in 30 06 and its accuracy at 100 yards is generally within .5 inch. So anyway I am considering going tomorrow to buy the t/c venture in 7mm rem mag to use for long range shooting at the range. Starting at a simple 200 and would like to eventually reach 1000 yards. Is this rifle going to be the right one for the job and if so is the caliber I want the right one or should I go with a 300 win mag or maybe even not a mag at all???

Also just to note. My interests at this point are purely just to hit the target. I know if I want to drive tacks and 1000 yards I need a 1500 dollar scope and probably twice as much in the rifle. I just want to have and enjoy hearing the bullet hit metal.

If you can get it with at least a 26" barrel I'd say it might be a good way to go.

TC's have a very loyal but very limited following. The guys that shoot them seem to be very happy with them but TC isn't mentioned here very often.

Anything that will consistently shoot sub MOA groups for you and have a dead nutz absolutely reliable cold bore shot will do the trick in this game quite well.

I believe the mags do come in 26 inch barrel. All others caliber a come 24 but they added two for 7 mag and 300. Iv never shot my 06 for any accuracy tho with the cold bore. I never really tried. Usually just a fire a round off the clean it out before starting to aim. However i was shooting today and had no change in accuracy as the barrel got hot. To hot to touch and it still held groups under 1 inch. Again this is only at 100 yards but I am absolutely pleased with the rifle this far. My fear for 7 mag tho is with how light the gun is. Iv heard the those kinds of calibers can actually flex the stock and throw it off when going those distances.

If you can get it with at least a 26" barrel I'd say it might be a good way to go.