How do you prepare your fur?

dstark

This is the first year I plan on selling my coyote hides. I have a few skinned out in the freezer and I've seen some local ads wanting to buy coyote fur. I have more hides and skulls decorating my house than the wife cares for so it's time to start selling. I case skinned the dogs I have but I have not bothered fleshing or turning out the ears.
So my question is:
1-Will the buyer generally want me to flesh and turn out the ears before he buys?
2-If so, is it worth the time and effort for the extra money?
3- Is it best to not waste time and just sell it on the carcass?

Either way I'm no professional and only likely to sell a few hides each year so it probably is not a huge deal either way. Just wondering what you guys do and hopefully earn back some gas money. Nabbed the guy in the pic this last weekend!

Attachments

• dog1.jpg
    dog1.jpg
    70 KB · Views: 142
How you handle the fur is going to depend on what your trying to sell your fur for, taxidermy or fur market. For the taxidermy you'll split the lips and eye lids, skin out the paws and turn the ears, I don't like doing this for coyotes but all my cats will get done this way and maybe some select fur.

I would sell in the round OR put up the fur 100%, tube skin it, split the tail and flesh, wash and rinse and hang to dry the fur. First stretch hide out then pull it of the stretcher and turn it fur out and always use a belly board. I then do a coarse combing and set the ears, eyes, lips and front legs to make everything even from side to side and looking good. I'll hit it a couple more times with a comb then pull it once dry, and do a final comb with some baby powder.

When done you should pop the fur and it should stand up and feel silky, even those Idaho dogs!