How are you using your electronic call??

Tamarac

I'm new to coyote hunting and am using a Fox Pro Wild Fire electronic call with the movement decoy. I usually start all my stands with a coyote locator, calling for a minute, and then waiting for 2-3. Continueing with a rabbit distress for a minute and quiet for 2-3. I've been out the last few weekends and won't even see anything! I know they're there because I see them all the time pheasant hunting!​

My question is this:​

What calls are you using and how are you using them? Put another way how long are you calling and how long are you waiting in between calls? Thanks everyone.​

I think you would be wise to end your stand with Pup in Distress3 or Coyote Pup Frenzy for 5 to 10 minutes straight. You just might be surprised how things turn out, but be super ready on your weapon of choice because sometimes things happen really fast.

I use a Wildfire as well. I usually start with lightening jack or some kind of prey distress on medium volume for a couple min, off for a min. Then I repeat on 2/3 volume, wait a little longer, then a couple barks/howls, wait a bit, then I blast pup distress or dying coyote for the rest of the set, 15-20 min total. If I'm in wide open areas I'll go a little longer.

A lot depends on where I'm calling, and what time of year, etc. Yotes should be pairing up and getting freaky time of year, so I use more vocalizations in hopes they'll come looking to kick the intruder out of their turf. In a month or so, I use more pup distress.

If you're hunting areas that get a lot of pressure, throw this all out the window until spring when you'll have a new crop of uneducated youngsters running around. In these areas where they've been hunted a lot, or those close to farms, houses, etc, something unusual (that they don't associate with armed dudes in camo) might work better ie-kitten distress, k9 pup distress, coon fight, whatever they haven't heard a zillion times.