Help me select a reticle

Duffy

I'm purchasing a Sako TRG-S in .338 Lapua, the sporting variant and not the sniper's rifle. It must serve as a general-purpose rifle, and not a dedicated long-range rig. I do not expect to try hunting shots beyond 400-yards, but with such a caliber, a 500-yard shot is feasible.

It will be used in Ontario, and being a non-traditional college student, I will return to relative poverty for the duration. It must do many jobs as I shall but one rifle. I may employ it in the brush, where ranges are short but want versatility. I always employ lighted reticles as they make a difference for me.

1. The German # 4 looks good for running game, but what about longer range?

2. The duplex reticle looks good for genral use, but perhaps not running game. What do you think?

3. Mil-dots look good for long-range, but what about running game?

4. Is there anything I may have forgotten or failed to consider?

Well how far are you going to shoot this running game? if it is in the brush it wont be too far so a ranging/distance estimating reticle may not be needed.

For LR, any reticle which is thin enough and using the scope turret adjustments will do. The mildot and similar reticles give you a hand when you need to adjust for elevation ( or even lead) if you cannot make adjustments.

The mil dot reticle also uses mils in the sides of the crosshair so it can also be useful for windage/lead estimations.

Take a look at the TDS reticle offered by Swaro and others.. it may fit well your needs for nt very long shots ( say under 700 yds).

Now I wonder why you want a 338 lapua for shooting in the brush??? it is not a cheap cartridge.

Take also a look at the flash dot reciles offered by some european makers (Schmidt Bender hunting scopes), Zeiss has soimething similar under a different name. They can be used for normal shots with no illum. with a classic reticle, and turn th elight on with a red dot for quick shots.