Guidance needed - Sendero

Mike027

Good morning all. I will apologize in advance for the lengthy note. Im not experienced enough to make an informed decision on my own so I am looking for some guidance to help point me in the right direction.

I have a new Sendero SFII in 7mmRM that I am working up loads for. I had purchased this new in 2009 and I finally got around to putting a Leupold VX3 4.5x14x50 w/CDS on it this past January. I did a break-in procedure on it (instructions from Wipeout) and I have been working up loads using Sierra Gameking 160 grain spitzer boat tails and Berger 168 VLDs. I have attached a pdf that shows the typical groups I have been getting.

This is the first rifle I have owned that has really given me groups that are consistently around that half inch to three quarter inch range at a 100yds and I dont want to mess it up (thats why Im posting here with my questions).

At the last range session I fired about 25 rounds. At the end of this session my cheek bone was starting to hurt. I also noticed that the recoil causes the rifle to bounce off the bag so much that in the follow thru the target was no longer in my view (barrel typically finishes pointing left and above the target in a 10 or 11 o'clock position).

I have been researching muzzle brakes and I thought perhaps adding a brake (I was looking at Gentry) would be of benefit to manage the recoil because I really enjoy practice shooting. I had also considered having the stock/action glass bedded at the same time (both items to be done by local smith). My thinking was that the glass bedding could possibly help tighten up groups with the Bergers.

I showed my target groups to a friend of mine and he said that adding a brake or doing bedding could possibly ruin the accuracy by changing the harmonics of the barrel and he recommends that I leave as is (as you know this is easier said than done....this stuff is addicting).