Chrono accuracy

bkondeff

So I have been using a Chrony Beta Master for a few years. Over the past 2 years I have noticed unreasonble differences from one outing to the next in my 7mm between 2880 and 3020 fps. I have attributed some of it to the level of the sun, with overcast days the best. I decided to pick up a new one and basically test them against each other. I placed one directly in front of the other. I came up with ~100fps diff. I thought maybe the one in front affected the one behind it, so I swapped their position and it remained the same. I made sure both units where properly unfolded.

Any opinions on the diff or how to verify/fix it? I will say on this day the vel of the newer unit seemed less realistic at 3050 fps in my 7mmRM for 71.0 gr Ret on a 24" sako. I have had this speed before when my bullets where Jammed in, instead of kissed.

So I have been using a Chrony Beta Master for a few years. Over the past 2 years I have noticed unreasonble differences from one outing to the next in my 7mm between 2880 and 3020 fps. I have attributed some of it to the level of the sun, with overcast days the best. I decided to pick up a new one and basically test them against each other. I placed one directly in front of the other. I came up with ~100fps diff. I thought maybe the one in front affected the one behind it, so I swapped their position and it remained the same. I made sure both units where properly unfolded.

Any opinions on the diff or how to verify/fix it? I will say on this day the vel of the newer unit seemed less realistic at 3050 fps in my 7mmRM for 71.0 gr Ret on a 24" sako. I have had this speed before when my bullets where Jammed in, instead of kissed.

everytime I see somebody using a Chrony at the range they are constantly fiddeling with it. Is it their setup? I don't know. I use a Pact PC2, and have zero complaints about it, except the lack of a printer.