Barrel Advise 7mm STW Build

TX COWDOC

I've been enjoying a Weatherby Accumark 7mm STW lefty for several years. I use a NF 5.5-22-50 scope. Rifle is simply too heavy to pack around anymore. I'm not interested in lighter glass as I love my scope. Therefore, I'm building a new rifle and want it to be lighter. Here's what I have thus far:
REM 700 Stainless Mag Action (Lefty)
McMillan Stock with edge fill

What barrel contour / length / twist would you use?
Anyone used a Proof Research carbon barrel on an STW?

Thank you for the info -

TX COWDOC

28" Proof Research Sendero contour 1:8" twist. That would let you shoot any bullet currently offered in the 7mm caliber.

Remington varmint is good but if you want even lighter look at the light palma profile. It heavy enough for long shots, without excess weight.

Good luck

Jerry

What's your McMillan inletted for? A carbon barrel may be too big...

They used to use those same diameter carbon barrels on factory 700's with HS Precision stocks and factory Browning A-Bolt's with the factory black synthetic Browning stocks. I'm sure the McMillan will be ok.

My smith really likes the krieger barrels, talked me into it over a shiling. He said that a krieger barrel is cryogenically frozen. He said that between a blank and their smallest conture one will shoot just as well as the other? That said I have a #5 finished at 28" + 1 5/8 break. With the scope it weighs out at a little over 10#. Too long to get out of the window and too heavy to carry lol.

I just had a new Bartlein 2B put on my Sako STW. It is my 3rd 2B, one on a 25-06 and a 280AI. I have grown very fond of that profile