A&D FX120I and V4 worth it?

Nuclear Worker

Ok guys still pretty new to reloading. Me and my wife have 6BR ,6.5x284,6.5 Grendel. Only reload for the 6.5x284 now plan on reloading for all. We do not shoot competition just for fun and hunting. I have a Hornady dispenser now and another scale that I check against. Is spending over 1000$ really worth it for what we do? Or am I just jumping in that rabbit hole deeper?

Everything in this sport is a rabbit hole…lol

there was a thread a few days ago, where everyone went fairly deep into this… it was titled "Which Scale"..
I'm also looking at buying a new scale is the scale worth it for just a stand alone without the auto trickler. David

I have a $300 chargemaster I bought when they came out several years ago, and I retired a balance beam 505. Several months back I picked up a used V3 and and brand new FX120i. I was surprised to find that the chargemaster Is way more accurate than advertised. Plenty accurate enough for anything other than f-class competition. My v3 does throw faster so I like using it.

I would assume they make the inserts for the Hornady as well, on the Chargemaster they speed up the dispense and increase the accuracy. I run 2 pans on a CM and hand transfer and trickle on the FX120 and it is pretty fast for me. It depends on how many rounds you are doing if the trickler is worth it but for sure the FX120 is, it stopped all scale drift and rezeroing issues.

I'm also looking at buying a new scale is the scale worth it for just a stand alone without the auto trickler. David
They are very nice scales and the auto trickled looks like it will be outstanding as well. I have used the charge master and charge master lite for years and they have been worth every Penney, but I just wanted to step up a level. If the price doesn't bother you, the A&D 120i would probably be the last scale you would ever need to buy.

I have no doubt the V4 is best.