A .270 possible for a 1k target gun?

LeonJ71

A friend is gonna help me build a 1k target/hunting rifle mostly likely a .308. But in case I cant find a M700 in SA would a .270 be ok for say 500 yard deer hunting and 1k target shooting build?

I dont want a magnum round and if the LA is a 270 I can reload for both my build rifle and the .270 my wife hunts with. I currently shoot deer on a regular basis out to 300 yards since I hunt agro fields here in florida.

Any suggestions would be appreciated as I am totally new to building and also LR target shooting.

A friend is gonna help me build a 1k target/hunting rifle mostly likely a .308. But in case I cant find a M700 in SA would a .270 be ok for say 500 yard deer hunting and 1k target shooting build?

Yes.
The 270 is more than capable of 1000 yard targets with the right bullet and 500 yard deer are no problem ether.

J E CUSTOM

I run 140 Accubonds's in mine and have taken game (antelope) to 650 yards.

I think it's a great round and if you want to build a fast twist rifle the heavy Matrix bullets should give you really good performance.

The new long range AB's or the Hornady 150 gr Interbond should shoot from a standard twist rate as well. . . Berger has some nice high BC bullets as well but I've no experience with them.

A 270 should out shoot a 308 in every scenario. . . Were you to build a 30-06 though you'd see some advantage due to the heavier bullets in terms of wind drift and energy carry.

A 270 will not be competitive due to lack of match grade bullets.

Go with a 6.5, 7 or 30 caliber. A 6.5x47 or 280 would be a much better choice.

Plenty of match grade bullets from Berger and Matrix ballistics that will run with any any of the others, the only difference is it's in a 270 package!