700 yard New Mexico mulie

RDM416

A couple of weeks or so ago I took my 14 year old daughter on a cow elk and mule deer hunt. We hunted a private ranch near Truth or Consequences in the Gila. I have been hunting and guiding on this ranch for over 10 years. A buddy from TN was also with us and had a cow and deer tag as well.

We started hunting on Thursday afternoon after arriving at the ranch. We spotted several elk, and had a shot opportunity on a cow at a little over 600 yards, but I elected not to let my daughter take the shot. She is plenty capable but it was simply getting too dark. The next evening we got on a herd of cows at a water hole. Both Elizabeth and Robby shot one each at about 300 yards. 2 cow elk down at the same time about 30 yards apart and we can drive the truck to them!! It don't get any better than that....... other than it was also my daughters first elk.:D

Before we shot the elk, we also spotted three mule deer bucks in the same canyon. Our tags became active the next morning, so at daylight we were right back in the same spot. Just after daylight I spotted 3 bucks (different bucks from the night before.... bigger). I ranged the biggest buck at 698 yards. I started getting set up to shoot him with my daughters 338 Lapua. By the time I was set up, the buck had bedded down perfectly broadside. There was minimal wind and very little elevation difference. Checking my dial-up chart showed 13.75 moa at 700. I then checked my Applied Ballistics app on my phone. At home in Arkansas my app and real world drops are exactly the same out to 1000 yards. With the current conditions in NM the app called for 12.25 moa.