308win hunting bullet

5280yotes

I have recently purchased a savage 10 fcp-k and it shoots so well with 168g a-max over varget im getting under an inch 3shot groups at 300yds. I know the a-max is not a hunting bullet. I think for antelope it might be fine but mulies in eastern colorado they might be too frangible. I have been looking at the 165g sst and the berger 168vld. I was just kinda hoping someone else has already done this as i know how many fans the 308 has. Im liking the 308win it has really impressed me. I would like for it to be a 500yd elk gun but I think im asking for a little too much there. Long range hunting is all new to me but im hooked so sorry if this has been asked a 100 times before. Thanks in advance.

Unless the colorado mulies are tougher than the ones in sd i would shoot away with the 168 amax. used them last 2 years and have not had to have a follow up shot yet on 9 deer any where from 100 to 450 it has performed well.

Well I have no first hand experience with the above but I think if you run a search you will find many refrences to the AMAX being used for hunting. I remember a thread by Shawn Carlock in which a client of his took her elk with a 6.5 140g AMAX at more than 500 yards in a rifle he built for her.

Jon

Thats great.. Thanks guys, I cant wait to take some game with this rifle. Im working on my 7mag to get it to shoot as good with berger 168's, not quite there yet but I have plenty of time. The new savage accustock rifles are amazing shooters out of the box and im having a blast. Im already so addicted I cant wait for my first custom...:)

I took this N. Carolina buck with a single 155gr A-Max to the chest from my .308. One big leap and it was all over. Shot was taken at 200 yards.
Occoneechee_Lodge_2010_009.jpg

I just got these but no testing yet: 168 Gr. Barnes TSX.