300 yard rifle setup

Nishon

hey guys!
I have a Howa 1500 heavy barrel in 243 with 24 inch barrel.I have read the round robin method of ladder testing to shoot at 1000 yard with larger calibres.If i understand correctly the idea is to fire different powder charges to get the barrel to perform at its optimum with regards to barrel vibration.In other word you want to find the barrel sweet spot by getting a few shots of different powder charges landing next to each other with minimal vertical dispersion.I really hope i explained that correctly.

The ladder test is normally done initially at around 300-500 yards so that you can see on target the vertical dispersion.I really like to find out if this is the same method and distance to use to set your rifle at 300 yards/meters or is there a better approach.I would really appreciate some advise as im quite new to long range and would really like to start shooting at this distance for now.I will also use this rifle for springbuck hunting and these animals are usually shot at long distances.Im currently using the old barnes- x 90gn heads and they shoot like half inch groups at 100 yards.

It sounds like you understand the ladder test well enough. 300 yards is a good distance. One thing I did not see is your charge increments. When I have used the ladder in the past, I went up by .3 grains. Something to consider, in every rifle I have developed loads for, the most accurate data was within 3 grains or less of listed max. Instead of the ladder test, I load 5 rounds of each charge and increase by .5 with every 5 rounds. Which is an older method of load development but works better for me. Then when I find my most accurate, I move up by .1 with 5 rounds until the most accurate is seen. Below is an example of my .260 Remington work up.

5 Rounds - 44gr
5 Rounds - 44.5gr
5 Rounds - 45gr
5 Rounds - 45.5gr
5 Rounds - 46gr ******Most Accurate******
5 Rounds - 46.5gr
5 Rounds - 47gr