150 gr. ETip .308 Win powder choice?

davkrat

I've been using the ETips for a few years now with a 45.5 gr. charge of Varget. I started noticing some pressure signs and decided I would try some other powders. I've always shot Varget in the .308 seems like over and over again that is all that is suggested. I have not had the stellar accuracy others have claimed with the ETips and can not get anywhere near the book velocities. I'm shooting a Remington 700 SPS with a 24" barrel using Win brass and CCI 200 primers. My 45.5 gr Varget load was getting around 2730 fps. Hornady's reloading data shows 2670-2914fps with 42.3-46.5gr of Varget. I tried a lower charge of 44.5 today and averaged 2642 fps. I wish it was higher but I can live with that, shot right at 1 MOA at 200 yards today.

In search of better accuracy and maybe higher velocities without pressure signs I tried BLC-2 and H4895. Others have suggested that ball powder and the ETips do not play nice. Here are some photos of the results. The lower charges of BLC-2 show potential for accuracy but only got in the 2550 fps range. Okay for targets but I'd really like to be in the 2750-2850 range if possible. The H4895 gave amazingly low SD but sprayed the bullets all over the place. At the upper ends of the H4895 loads it started flinging bullets 5" high and right. With those groups and flatter primers I only shot one of the highest H4895 near max loads.

I only shot 2 round of each charge mainly to see potential velocity and pressure limits. I may take the mid load H4895 and the lowest BLC-2 loads and play with them a bit. Looks like my gun just can't get past the 2700 fps. mark with the ETips. Might just stick with the Varget loads. Tried getting photos of the primers and what looks flat in hand does not look nearly as flat in the photos. I'll pop them later and am sure I'll find a ridge around the edge of those top loads.